© Delphine Lebon

DANS — In Soirée d'études, Cassiel Gaube expands the research set out in his solo Farmer Train Swirl - Étude and creates a trio exploring the rich vocabulary of House Dance in a series of études.

An étude, in the musical sense of the word, is a composition designed as an occasion to explore the possibilities of a particular technique and to experiment with these, which is similar to the way House Dance is practiced. Drawing from commonly known moves, the dancer looks for variations of these steps and for inventive ways of articulating them together. This common knowledge allows people to read each other's dancing. Together with Yonas Perou, a Paris-based dancer experienced in Street dance, and Federica Miani, Cassiel seeks to reveal the literacy that this practice requires and produces.

contact ART HAPPENS

Throughout the creation process, Cassiel will work in close collaboration with two fellow artists: Matteo Fargion & Manon Santkin. Soirée d’études will premiere at La Ménagerie de Verre (Paris) at 19 November 2020 and will also be shown on 20 and 21 November.

CREDITS

Creation: Cassiel Gaube
Dance: Cassiel Gaube, Yonas Perou, Frederica Miani
Technical support & light: Luc Schaltin
Dramaturgy: Manon Santkin
Dramaturgy & Sound: Matteo Fargion
Production: Hiros
Coproduction: La Ménagerie de Verre, Centre Chorégraphique National de Caen en Normandie dans le cadre de l'Accueil-studio, Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk), workspacebrussels, wpZimmer, C-TAKT, CCN-Ballet national de Marseille dans le cadre de l'accueil studio / Ministère de la Culture, KAAP, Charleroi danse, Les Ballets C de la B, La Place de la Danse CDCN Toulouse-Occitanie
With the support of: Flemish Government, Kunstenwerkplaats, Teatro Municipal do Porto, Iaspis The Swedish Arts Grants Committee's International Programme for Visual Artists, Tanzhaus Zürich, School van Gaasbeek

© Delphine Lebon

DANSE — Dans Soirée d'études, Cassiel Gaube approfondit la recherche exposée dans son solo Farmer Train Swirl - Étude et crée un trio qui explore le riche vocabulaire de la House Dance dans une série d'études.

Une étude, au sens musical du terme, est une composition conçue comme une occasion d'explorer les possibilités d'une technique particulière et de les expérimenter, ce qui est similaire à la façon dont se pratique la House Dance. En s'inspirant de mouvements connus, le danseur cherche des variations de ces pas et des manières inventives de les articuler entre eux. Cette connaissance commune permet de lire la danse de l'autre. Avec Yonas Perou - un danseur parisien expérimenté dans la Street Dance - et Federica Miani, Cassiel cherche à révéler la lecture requise et produite par cette pratique.

contact ART HAPPENS

Pour cette création, Cassiel travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les artistes Matteo Fargion et Manon Santkin. Soirée d'études connaîtra sa première le 19 novembre 2020 à La Ménagerie de Verre (Paris) et y sera présenté jusqu'au 21 novembre 2020.

CREDITS

Création : Cassiel Gaube
Danse : Cassiel Gaube, Federica "Mia" Miani, Diego "Odd Sweet" Dolciamie
Dramaturgie : Liza Baliasnaja, Matteo Fargion et Manon Santkin
Son : Matteo Fargion
Support technique & lumière : Luc Schaltin
Production : Hiros
Distribution : ART HAPPENS
Coproduction : La Ménagerie de Verre, Centre Chorégraphique National de Caen en Normandie dans le cadre de l'Accueil-studio, Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk), workspacebrussels, wpZimmer, C-TAKT, CCN-Ballet national de Marseille dans le cadre de l'accueil studio / Ministère de la Culture, KAAP, Charleroi danse, La Manufacture CDCN - Bordeaux, Danse élargie 2020, CN D Paris, les ballets C de la B, Place de la Danse Toulouse, CNDC Angers, Le Phare - CCN du Havre Normandie
Avec le soutien de : Gouvernement flamand, Kunstenwerkplaats, Teatro Municipal do Porto, Iaspis The Swedish Arts Grants Committee's International Programme for Visual Artists, Tanzhaus Zürich, School van Gaasbeek, Le Quartz Brest